Retail fashion makes up a large section of the consumer good market. It is a market which is typically distinguished by rapid shifts in consumer demand, a large number of competitors and brief product life cycles. Retail fashion is the ensemble of three divisions in fashion; couture, ready-to-wear and mass fashion. In 2015, the fashion industry contributed £28 billion to the UK economy alone. It is an industry which is constantly evolving through trends, art movements, economic demands and digital expansion.

We were very interested in seeing which influencers, brands and publications were leading the discussion in the fashion industry on social media, so we sourced the leading influencers, brands and publications from Instagram, YouTube and twitter mentioning all the keywords relevant to the retail fashion industry. We then added these accounts into our database, categorised and curated by hand a list of the top 300 influencers, brands and publications ranked on a combination of the 4 Rs (Resonance, Relevance, Reach and Reference) using their Twitter data. These accounts were then added into our Influencer Relationship Management software (IRM) where we could map and analyse their conversations.

WHO ARE THE INFLUENCERS?

Below you can see a network map of the conversations among the top retail fashion influencers. Be sure to click on the map to enjoy the full size network diagram in greater detail.

 

Onalytica Retail Fashion Top 300 Influencers, Brands and Publications - Influencer network map

 

Below is a list of the top 50 retail fashion influencers. If you want to see who ranks from 50-100 be sure to download the full report by clicking the download button below!

Rank Name Instagram Twitter Influencer Score
1 Robin Givhan robingivhan RobinGivhan 100
2 Pat McGrath patmcgrathreal patmcgrathreal 98.82
3 Alexander Fury alexanderfury AlexanderFury 75.46
4 juneambrose juneambrose juneAmbrose 66.5
5 Joe Zee mrjoezee mrjoezee 64.34
6 Alexandra Shulman alexandravogue AShulman2 60.02
7 Shea Marie peaceloveshea peaceloveSHEA 54.41
8 Monique Lhuillier moniquelhuillier M_Lhuillier 49.64
9 Coco cocolavieenrose CocoLaVieEnRose 46.88
10 Hilary Alexander hilaryalexanderobe HilaryAlexander 46.88
11 LilianPacce lilianpacce LilianPacce 41.74
12 Gok Wan therealgokwan therealgokwan 41.74
13 NeNe Leakes neneleakes NeNeLeakes 41.74
14 Derek Blasberg derekblasberg DerekBlasberg 41.74
15 Oliver Proudlock proudlock oliverproudlock 41.74
16 Samantha Maria samanthamariaofficial samanthamaria 41.74
17 Jeanne Beker thejeannebeker Jeanne_Beker 41.74
18 Leonora Jiménez notsoblondeblog LeonoraJimenez1 41.74
19 Chiara Biasi chiarabiasi chiarabiasi 41.74
20 Giuliana Rancic giulianarancic GiulianaRancic 41.74
21 Brad Goreski bradgoreski mrbradgoreski 41.74
22 Suzy Menkes suzymenkesvogue SuzyMenkesVogue 41.19
23 Miss Lisa Armstrong misslisaarmstrong LisaDoesFashion 33.6
24 Zanna Roberts Rassi zannarassi zannarassi 27.96
25 Justine Picardie justinepicardie JPicardie 27.65
26 Lydia lydiaemillen LydiaEmillen 25.66
27 Lucy Williams lucywilliams02 Fashion_Me_Now 22.11
28 karlie flo$$. karlie.floss FUCCl 20.98
29 Hayden Williams hayden_williams Hayden_Williams 19.32
30 aya kanai ayatkanai ayakanai 19.32
31 Mickey Boardman askmrmickey AskMrMickey 19.32
32 Camilla Belle camillabelle CamillaBelle 19.32
33 Sydne Summer sydneysummer SydneSummer 19.32
34 STACEY🦋DUGUID staceyduguid StaceyDuguid 19.32
35 Lucy Yeomans lucy_yeomans Lucy_Yeomans 19.32
36 Margaret Zhang margaret__zhang Margaret__Zhang 19.32
37 Sabir M. Peele mensstylepro MensStylePro 19.32
38 Michael Carl carlscrush carlscrush 19.32
39 Rachel Smith rachelsmithtv RachelSmithTV 19.32
40 Sarah Ashcroft sarahhashcroft SarahhAshcroft 19.32
41 Shirley 💗 shirleybeniang ShirleyBEniang 19.32
42 Amy amyjaneoldfield amyjaneoldfield 19.32
43 Donna Air airdonna1 donnaair 19.32
44 Lisa Hamilton seewantshop SeeWantShop 19.32
45 Irene Colzi ireneccloset Ireneccloset 19.32
46 Robert Verdi robertverdi RobertVerdi 19.32
47 Géraldine Grisey punkygeraldine punkygeraldine 19.32
48 Zara Martin zaramartin ZaraMartin 19.32
49 Rosie Fortescue rosiefortescue RosieFortescue 17.32
50 Rebecca Casserly bec_boop BoopFashionista 15.61

 

Download The Full Report

content_top_icon

 

WHAT ARE THEY SAYING?

 

From the word cloud above you can see some of the words that resonate the most among the influencers. New York, London, Milan and Paris fashion weeks have been a key focus of conversation among brands and individuals, and as a result some of the most popular hashtags used have been #nyfw, #lfw and #fw17.  Similarly, models and couture-related topics were a common driver of interest. The name ‘Hadid’, surname of it-girls Gigi and Bella Hadid, was mentioned on numerous occasions due to their vast influence in the fashion industry. Haute couture stands firmly at the centre of conversations due to the impact it has on retail fashion as a whole; fashion houses create trends which are then mimicked and recreated for cheaper ‘en masse’ by high street brands. 


WHO ARE THE BRANDS?

Below you can see another network map created with in IRM. If you are interested in learning more about identifying, managing and engaging with influencers click here to get in touch!

Onalytica Retail Fashion Top 300 Influencers, Brands and Publications - Brand network map

Here is a list of the top 50 retail fashion brands. If you want to see who ranks from 50-100 be sure to download the report to get the full top 100 list!

Rank Name Instagram Twitter Influencer Score
1 Chloé chloe chloefashion 100
2 CHANEL chanelofficial CHANEL 73.33
3 gucci gucci gucci 66.65
4 Versace versace_official Versace 65.21
5 Vogue Runway voguerunway VogueRunway 62.36
6 Tommy Hilfiger TommyHilfiger TommyHilfiger 45.82
7 Off-White™ off____white OffWht 73.62
8 Balmain balmain Balmain 45.76
9 Balenciaga balenciaga BALENCIAGA 45.56
10 Alexander McQueen alexandermcqueen McQueen 44.18
11 GIVENCHY givenchyofficial givenchy 42.11
12 H&M USA hm hmusa 35.85
13 Roberto Cavalli roberto_cavalli Roberto_Cavalli 35.12
14 Topshop topshop Topshop 30.26
15 London Fashion Week londonfashionweek LondonFashionWk 26.52
16 ASOS ASOS ASOS 25.64
17 Louis Vuitton LouisVuitton LouisVuitton 23.27
18 PRADA Prada Prada 22.04
19 Maisons de Mode maisonsdemode maisonsdemode 21.68
20 Louis Vuitton UK louisvuitton LouisVuitton_UK 21.68
21 Minnies Boutique minniesboutique MinniesBoutique 21.68
22 TOM FORD TOMFORD TOMFORD 21.44
23 HUGO BOSS HUGOBOSS HUGOBOSS 20.57
24 NYFW nyfw nyfw 19.97
25 FashionWeek fashion_week FashionWeek 16.59
26 CFDA cfda CFDA 15
27 ASOS Menswear asos_menswear ASOS_Menswear 14.65
28 LANVIN LANVINofficial LANVINofficial 14.4
29 MANGO Mango Mango 12.14
30 Jean Paul Gaultier jpgaultierofficial JPGaultier 10.32
31 Zac Posen zaczacposen Zac_Posen 10.2
32 Marc Jacobs themarcjacobs themarcjacobs 9.28
33 MACcosmetics maccosmetics MACcosmetics 9.13
34 Manolo Blahnik manoloblahnikhq ManoloBlahnik 8.83
35 Bershka bershkacollection Bershka 8.79
36 Superdry superdryglobal Superdry 8.67
37 Design Museum designmuseum DesignMuseum 5.66
38 Free People freepeople FreePeople 5.66
39 Public Desire PublicDesire PublicDesire 5.53
40 FashionweekNYC FashionweekNYC FashionweekNYC 4.6
41 YOOX yoox yoox 4.58
42 LA Fashion Week LAFW LAFW 4.38
43 Bulgari Bulgariofficial Bulgariofficial 4.26
44 Debenhams Debenhams Debenhams 4.13
45 models.com modelsdot models 3.95
46 H&M United Kingdom hm hmunitedkingdom 3.78
47 The Fashion Network thefashionnetuk TheFashionNetUK 3.78
48 Massimo Dutti massimodutti massimodutti 3.68
49 Next Models NextModels NextModels 3.62
50 Next nextofficial nextofficial 3.45

 

Download The Full Report

content_top_icon

 

WHAT ARE THEY SAYING?

Retail Fashion: Top 300 Influencers, Brands and Publications - Brands Word Cloud

The brands’ key focus of conversation revolves around fashion shows and collections. New York fashion week resonated the most, followed by Paris and London fashion weeks. Individual brand collections were also key drivers of interest; particularly couture collections by fashion giants Louis Vuitton, Gucci, Givenchy and Versace. What we can gather from this word cloud is that brands tend to tweet about brand-centric topics; often posting about the season’s latest creations.

If you’re interested in looking at these influencers in more detail, as well as discovering more influencers, why not head over to our product page and get a free trial by clicking the button below!

CLICK HERE FOR A FREE TRIAL!

WHO ARE THE PUBLICATIONS?

Here is another network map of the top retail fashion publications. Be sure to click on the map to enjoy the full size network diagram in greater detail.

Onalytica Retail Fashion Top 300 Influencers, Brands and Publications - Publications network map

Below is a list of the top 50 retail fashion publications. If you want to see who ranks from 50-100 be sure to download the full report by clicking the download button below!

Rank Name Instagram Twitter Influencer Score
1 i-D i_d i_D 100
2 Fashionista.com fashionista_com Fashionista_com 61.3
3 WWD wwd wwd 53.79
4 BFC britishfashioncouncil BFC 37.33
5 Menswear Style menswearstyle MenswearStyle 37.23
6 Seventeen seventeen seventeen 32.94
7 Dazed dazed Dazed 25.53
8 The Source Magazine thesource TheSource 24.8
9 AnOtherMagazine anothermagazine AnOtherMagazine 23.59
10 Who What Wear whowhatwear WhoWhatWear 21.14
11 InStyle instylemagazine InStyle 17.81
12 Harper’s Bazaar UK bazaaruk BazaarUK 17.13
13 Marie Claire marieclaireuk marieclaireuk 15.15
14 The Cut thecut TheCut 13.78
15 Streetwear DaiIy streetweardaily StreetwearDaiIy 13.13
16 Blog and the City blogandthecity BlogAndTheCity1 11.97
17 RCFA fashion_critic_ Fashion_Critic_ 10.79
18 Grazia UK graziauk GraziaUK 10.65
19 Fashions Finest fashionsfinestmag fashionfinest 10.47
20 LOOK magazine lookmagazine Lookmagazine 9.48
21 Twitter Fashion TwitterFashion 9.42
22 NET-A-PORTER netaporter NETAPORTER 9.22
23 NYT Fashion nytimesfashion NYTFashion 8.96
24 Man Repeller manrepeller ManRepeller 8.3
25 Fabulous fabulousmag Fabulousmag 8.08
26 POPSUGAR Fashion popsugarfashion POPSUGARFashion 7.95
27 ELLEUK elleuk ELLEUK 7.65
28 New York Magazine nymag NYMag 7.59
29 Stylist Magazine stylistmagazine StylistMagazine 6.74
30 Highsnobiety highsnobiety highsnobiety 6.28
31 ELLE India elleindiaofficial ELLEINDIA 5.96
32 GQ Style gqstyle GQStyle 5.93
33 Glamour glamourmag glamourmag 5.73
34 V Magazine vmagazine vmagazine 5.71
35 VOGUE India vogueindia VOGUEIndia 5.38
36 Out Magazine outmagazine outmagazine 5.19
37 AP Fashion AP_Fashion AP_Fashion 4.98
38 NYT Styles tmagazine NYTStyles 4.94
39 New Look Fashion newlookfashion NewLookFashion 4.79
40 Men’s Health Style menshealthstyle MensHealthStyle 4.72
41 Times Fashion timesfashion TimesFashion 4.65
42 Men Style Fashion menstylefashion menstylefashion 4.38
43 VOGUE_Germany voguegermany VOGUE_Germany 4.28
44 Harper’sBazaar India bazaarindia BazaarIndia 4.27
45 Cosmopolitan India cosmoindia CosmoIndia 4.27
46 LDNfashion ldnfashion LDNfashion 4.16
47 Contentmode contentmodemagazine contentmode 4.11
48 Glamour Fashion glamour_fashion glamour_fashion 4.09
49 The Industry indlondon INDLondon 3.86
50 Men Of Thrift menofthrift menofthrift 3.76

 

Download The Full Report

content_top_icon

 

WHAT ARE THEY SAYING?

 

Retail Fashion: Top 300 Influencers, Brands and Publications - Publications Word Cloud

Fashion weeks and shows were also popular drivers of conversation among the top 100 publications. However, style and fashion behaviours more generally prevail the content shared by magazines and blogs. Trends and looks are a key focus area for these influencers and we can see that this resonates through hastags such as #streetstyle and #menswear.


Effective influencer marketing starts with identifying relevant influencers for your brand. Onalytica’s new Discovery platform mines over 200 billion posts a year into a curated database of over 150K global social media influencers, including data from Twitter, Blogs, Instagram, YouTube, Facebook, LinkedIn Profile Links + Demographic Data. These influencers are then ranked by Reach, Resonance, Relevance and Reference.

CLICK HERE FOR A FREE TRIAL!

Disclaimer: As ever with these lists, it must be stressed that the ranking is by no means a definitive measurement of influence, as there is no such thing. The brands and individuals listed are undoubtedly influential when it comes to driving discussion around retail fashion.

The PageRank based methodology we use to extract influencers on a particular topic takes into account the number and quality of contextual references that a user receives. These calculations also take into account a user’s resonance (engagement), relevance (number of tweets on topic), reach (number of followers) and reference (how often they appear in Twitter lists). If you want to learn more, please read our article that outlines influencer identification.

Related Posts

Artificial Intelligence 2017: Top 100 Influencers,... Artificial intelligence - or AI - is a true part of our world, as well as a substantial hub of interest for science and business. Companies are feroci...
Big Data 2017: Top 100 Influencers and Brands Big data analytics is the process of examining large and varied data sets to uncover hidden patterns, unknown correlations, market trends, customer pr...
Digital Transformation: Top 100 Influencers and Br... Digital transformation is the term given to the transformation of business activities, processes and models to fully leverage the opportunities of n...
8 Tips for B2B Christmas Marketing I know what you’re probably thinking: “Christmas? It’s not even December yet!”- but what use would these tips be if I were to share them on Christmas ...